Butter Krak

16 Mar

Driving through Pennsylvania the other day, going from Baltimore back to Massachusetts, I came across this alluring item at a Rutter’s station on the outskirts of York.

The Zitner’s Butter Krak. Of course I had to buy it.

Little did I know it is a Philadelphia-area delicacy, and only available for a few months each spring.

The Zitner company has been making cream-filled chocolate Easter eggs since for decades. The coconutty Butter Krak flavor was invented by Annie Zitner in the 1930s.

It took me a few days to test the Krak.

The outside is unassuming.

The inside is incredibly sweet, with a creamy coconut flavor mixed with short coconut shreds. The dark chocolate coating also contains bits of toasted coconut.

It’s tasty, but very, very sweet. I think I can wait until next spring for my next one!

One Response to “Butter Krak”

  1. Liz March 31, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Mmmmm…how could Butter Krak be bad?

    I have a question for you…do you mind e-mailing me at lizzy.do at gmail.com? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

